The Frontier Counties Development Council (FCDC) is a regional economic bloc composed of the County Governments of Lamu, Tana River, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Isiolo, Turkana, Samburu and West Pokot.  The Council was formed in March 2016, when Governors from seven Member Counties signed a memorandum of understanding. The composition has since grown from 7-member counties to 10 as of September 2018.

The Council promotes cooperation, coordination and information sharing between Counties in view of enhancing socio-economic development and promoting peaceful co-existence among its members. FCDC wants to enhance the benefits of the devolution process in their member counties by serving as a catalyst and trigger for sustainable development and prosperity in the FCDC region. FCDC experiences could then also serve as a model for other regions in Kenya.

  1. Our Vision

    Peaceful, prosperous and equitable Frontier Counties where people achieve their full potential and enjoy a high quality of life.

  2. Our Mission

    To coordinate development initiatives, enhance peace and bring about accelerated socio-economic development of Frontier Counties.

  3. Our Objectives
    • To address short-term regional problems and opportunities;
    • To build a foundation for medium and long-term sustainable, broad-based development;
    • Strengthen resilience in the face of new opportunities and traditional problems;
    • Take advantage of technology, regional synergies and economies of scale to reduce costs and boost efficiency;
    • Genuinely involve the citizens in developing and implement solutions.


In partnership with other development partners, the Government of Kenya, and the 10 County Governments that are members of the FCDC, there is great potential to transform these Frontier Counties and achieve the following overarching goals;

  1. Peace and security

    Promotion of peace, security and preventing violent extremism, values, and good governance;

  2. Economic growth

    The pursuit of high, sustainable and equitable economic growth;

  3. Poverty reduction

    Poverty reduction through employment generation and reduction of social vulnerability;

  4. Protection of the environment

    Protection of the environment and promotion of climate-friendly technologies and sound agricultural practices;

  5. Healthcare and education

    Promoting health care services and transforming technical, vocational and education to produce the right kind of skills and expanding access to technology, applications, innovation and networks.