About Us

The Frontier Counties Development Council (FCDC) is a regional economic bloc composed of the County Governments of Lamu, Tana River, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Isiolo, Turkana, Samburu and West Pokot. The Council was formed in March 2016, when Governors from seven Member Counties signed a memorandum of understanding. The composition has since grown from 7-member counties to 10 as of September 2018.

The Council promotes cooperation, coordination and information sharing between Counties in view of enhancing socio-economic development and promoting peaceful co-existence among its members. FCDC wants to enhance the benefits of the devolution process in their member counties by serving as a catalyst and trigger for sustainable development and prosperity in the FCDC region. FCDC experiences could then also serve as a model for other regions in Kenya.

FCDC has made significant strides in consolidating its position as an effective coordinating body for development activities in its member counties, attracting partnerships from government and development agencies.


Our objectives

• To address short-term regional problems and opportunities;
• To build a foundation for medium and long-term sustainable, broad-based development;
• Strengthen resilience in the face of new opportunities and traditional problems;
• Take advantage of technology, regional synergies and economies of scale to reduce costs and boost efficiency;
• Genuinely involve the citizens in developing and implement solutions.


Our Vision

Peaceful, prosperous and equitable Frontier Counties where people achieve their full potential and enjoy a high quality of life.

Our Mission

To coordinate development initiatives, enhance peace and bring about accelerated socio-economic development of Frontier Counties.

Our Core Values

  • Unity of purpose
  • Integration
  • Innovation
  • Partnership
  • Integrity

Key Facts


Member Counties